Site Search Order Information Home Contact
Open Court Publishing Company

The Philosophy of Strawson cover

Click to Enlarge

ISBN 0-8126-9378-7

$42.95  paper

428 pages


ISBN 0-8126-9377-9

$72.95  cloth

428 pages


The Philosophy of P. F. Strawson

Volume XXVI in the Library of Living Philosophers
Edited by Lewis E. Hahn

The twenty-sixth volume in the highly acclaimed Library of Living Philosophers series is devoted to the work of British philosopher of logic and metaphysician, P. F. Strawson. Following the Library of Living Philosophers series format, the volume contains an intellectual autobiography, twenty critical and descriptive essays by leading philosophers from around the world, Strawson's replies to the essays, and a bibliography of Strawson's works.

Born in 1919, Strawson was a leading proponent of ordinary language philosophy. He is the author of the early and extremely influential paper "On Referring" in which he criticized Russell's theory of definite descriptions. His most influential book, Individuals, helped to raise the status of metaphysics as a philosophical enterprise. Themes first addressed in this book continued to be of concern to him in his later work, including the possibility of objective knowledge, the subject-predicate distinction, the ontological status of persons, and the problem of individuation.

Contributors to the book include: Ruth Garrett Millikan, Susan Haack, E. M. Adams, Panayot Butchvarov, Richard Behling, John McDowell, Simon Blackburn, Tadeusz Szubka, David Frederick Haight, Joseph S. Wu, Andrew G. Black, David Pears, Robert Boyd, Hilary Putnam, Paul F. Snowdon, Arindam Chakrabarti, Wenceslao J. Gonzalez, Ernest Sosa, Chung-M. Tse, and John R. Searle.

Open Court Publishing Company · 70 East Lake Street · Suite 800 · Chicago, Illinois 60601
Copyright 2013
Phone: 1-800-815-2280
Fax: 1-312-701-1728